OSWA Staff

Executive Director

The Executive Director is hired by OSWA's Executive Committee. The current Executive Director is Jim James. Jim is responsible for managing the day to day operations; hiring staff and consultants, as needed; represents OSWA with state agencies and the media; overseas publications, websites, and calendars; and works on funding and grant opportunities; and overseas all OSWA activities at the state level.

Executive Director Jim James (503) 588-1813 jimjamesoswa@yahoo.com

Office Manager

The Office Manager is responsible for the invoicing and collection of OSWA dues, collaborating with chapters on membership issues, keeping financial records, publishing the Woodlander news letter, representing OSWA at various statewide events, and maintaining the office activities at OSWA's Salem office. The current Office Manager is Jen Rains. Jen works directly for Family Forests of Oregon (FFO) with 80% of her time on OSWA business and 20% of her time on Woodland Carbon business. Woodland Carbon is a wholly owned subsidiary of OSWA.

Office Manager Jen Rains (503) 588-1813 jenerains@gmail.com

Our Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of an appointed officer (usually the President) of each local chapter within the state. Representatives from other forestry organizations, or others who have an interest in OSWA's activities, may be voted onto this Board as well. An ideal Board of Directors will have representatives from all counties in the state, as well as other professionals with expert information and advice.

Board approves budgets and the organization's annual Work Plan. Board members are elected by the members in the County Chapters they represent. OSWA seeks input and expertise from professionals in relevant fields and can add them to the Board as non-voting members.

Current OSWA Board of Directors 

Baker County Eleen Gyllenberg
Benton County Marsha Carr
 Clackamas County Derek Craven
Columbia County Mark Deyer
Coos-Curry Counties Jason Wartnik
Douglas County Dale Cuyler
Grant County Bob Parker
Jackson-Josephine County Bill Potterf
Lane County Gary Jensen
Lincoln County Peter Bregman
Linn County Jim Merzenich
Marion/Polk County Mark Havel
Washington County John & Cathy Dummer
Yamhill County Hal Hagglund
Executive Director Jim James

Non-Voting Representatives:

Oregon Tree Farms Systems Joe Holmberg
Oregon Forest Resources Institute Mike Cloughesy
OSU Extension Program Jim Johnson
Oregon Department of Forestry Lena Tucker
Oregon Forest Industries Council Allan Foutch
Committee for Family Forestlands Susan Watkins

OSWA Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is authorized as the general governing body of the Oregon Small Woodlands Association. It manages finances and oversees the day to day business of the organization. The Executive Committee is elected by the membership of the organization, with the exception of the Treasurer who is appointed by the Executive Committee.

Executive members are appointed by vote. All members from all chapters are invited to partake in this election process.

OSWA Executive Committee 2014-2015

President Scott Hanson
President Elect Rick Barnes
2nd Vice President Dave Schmidt
2nd Vice President Donna Heffernan
2nd Vice President Mike Barnes
2nd Vice President Dick Courter
President Emeritus Scott Hayes
Treasurer Dallas Boge
Executive Director Jim James

Mailing Address

Oregon Small Woodlands Association
187 High Street NE, Suite 208
Salem, OR 97301

Telephone & Fax

 (503) 588-1813
 (503) 588-1970